Quick Links

Mesne Lea

Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


Click link to access the Multi Academy Trust Governance Information:

Prestolee Multi Acdaemy Trust Trustees 

Prestolee Multi Academy Trust Members 

PMAT Scheme of Delegation and Articles of Association


Meet our Governors


Mrs Jacquie Russell Appointed Governor       (Chair)
Mrs Laura HindleyAppointed Governor       (Vice-Chair)
Miss Lauren Gardner Appointed Governor  
Mrs Mulikat KiloriParent Governor
Mrs Elizabeth Reeve Staff Governor 
Mrs Kate SantoParent Governor 
Mrs Victoria Unsworth Headteacher 


The Deputy Headteacher, Mrs A. Cartwright, is an observer 
Mrs V Semple is Governance Professional to Mesne Lea Primary School


Please follow the link here to view Mesne Lea LGB register of business and pecuniary interests. 

Please follow the link here to view Mesne Lea LGB Attendance and Trust Board Attendance


If you would like to find out about Governor vacancies at Mesne Lea Primary school please contact the Chair on


What We Do


Three Core Functions of a Governing Board:


Governing Boards, have three clearly defined core functions:


  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.


Effective Governance:


Effective governance is based on six key features:


  • Strategic leadership that sets and champions vision, ethos and strategy.
  • Accountability that drives up educational standards and financial performance.
  • People with the right skills, experience, qualities and capacity.
  • Structures that reinforce clearly defined roles and responsibilities.
  • Compliance with statutory and contractual requirements.
  • Evaluation to monitor and improve the quality and impact of governance.


We are currently reviewing how we collect diversity data for governors and trustees, and this will be updated shortly.


Contact Details

If you would like to contact the Governors, please email the Chair, Jacquie Russell, on Email



Prestolee Multi Academy Trust 



Bill Barclay:                                      Appointed 16/01/17

Sheryl Farnworth:                           Appointed 26/01/17

Stuart Fox:                                       Appointed 20/01/20

Kelly Macadam:                               Appointed 01/07/19

Scott Patton:                                    Appointed 01/07/19


Terms of Office of Trustees 


Lisa Gartside                          Term of Office            08/02/2021 - 07/02/2025

Andrew Sargeant                   Term of Office            07/02/2022 - 06/02/2026

Paul Heath                              Term of Office            18/07/2022 - 17/07/2026

Emlyn Wright                          Term of Office            27/03/2023 - 26/03/2027

Jayne Coleman                        Term of Office             

Lisa Littler                                 Term of Office 


Trust Leadership:


Michael Tonge                            Chief Executive Officer

Rebecca Dunne                          Deputy CEO

Michael Govier                            Chief Financial Officer

Krystyna Forster                          Head of School Bowness

Damian Harris                             Exec Head Waterloo / Head of School Fiddlers Lane

Stephen Holden                          Exec Head Bowness/Tottington

Alex Keane                                 Head of School Prestolee / Exec Head of Barton Moss

Lynsey Smith                              Head of SCITT

Deborah Taylor                           Head of School Tottington

Victoria Unsworth                       Headteacher of Mesne Lea Primary

Claire Woolley                            Head of School at Barton Moss 

Helen Turner                              Head of School at Waterloo Primary

Gill Thornicroft                            Headteacher of Springside Primary